“Up Close & Personal” – Photographs by Laurinda Faye Rubin at Camerawork

Camerawork, Scranton’s only photography gallery, located in the Marquis Gallery at 515 Center Street, Scranton, PA  is proud to present  “Up Close & Personal”, a show of  photographs  by Laurinda Faye Rubin.   November 2nd, 2012 to December  3rd, 2012.  Opening Reception Friday, November 2nd, 2012         6 PM to 8:20 PM

Artist’s Statement –

“I began my journey of Macro/Up-Close Photography in the 1990’s when I attended a workshop which emphasized the art of Macro Photography…. I found my passion! My mentor, Nancy Rotenberg introduced me to a world that opened my heart and soul by discovering the world by getting up close and personal with my subjects.  The Up-Close and Personal photographs in the show will open the viewers to a different perspective of our world and the unique subjects, designs and colors that can be found sometimes in the simplest places and in our surroundings.  Each subject has its own unique light which shines through my photographs and allows me to share my vision of the world. I continue to grow and learn different ways to appreciate the unique world of Macro/Up-Close Photography through workshops, other photographers and the youth in the Monroe County 4-H Photography Club. Every photograph I take is a result of my experiences, vision and influences from everyone that has touched my life.  I dedicate this show to my mentor Nancy Rotenberg, who lost her battle with cancer last year, her influence and encouragement has given me the courage to display my photographs at the Camerawork Gallery and share them with others. Passion comes from within; Photography gives me the ability to share my passion with the world through my camera lens.”

Leave a comment